You are here

IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence: 2012

2012 IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing awarded to Professor David Abramson

The IEEE Technical committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC) is happy to announce that the 2012 IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing has been awarded to Professor David Abramson for outstanding contributions to high performance parallel and distributed computing.

Professor David Abramson is currently a Professor of Computer Science and part of the Faculty of Information Technology at Monash University in Melbourne, Australia, where he is also Director of the Monash eScience and Grid Engineering Lab, Director of the Monash e-Education Centre, and Science Director of the Monash e-Research Centre. Professor Abramson has been involved in computer architecture and high performance computing research since 1979. Previous to joining Monash University in 1997, he has held appointments at Griffith University, CSIRO, and RMIT. At CSIRO he was the program leader of the Division of Information Technology High Performance Computing Program, and was also an adjunct Associate Professor at RMIT in Melbourne. He served as a program manager and chief investigator in the Co-operative Research Centre for Intelligent Decisions Systems and the Co-operative Research Centre for Enterprise Distributed Systems. He has also served on committees for many conferences and workshops, and has published over 200 papers and technical documents. He has given seminars and received awards around Australia and internationally and has received over $8 million in research funding. Professor Abramson is a fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the Academy of Science and Technological Engineering (ATSE), and a senior member of the IEEE.