You are here

IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence: 2013

2013 IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing awarded to Professor Marc Snir

The IEEE Technical committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC) is happy to announce that the 2013 IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing has been awarded to Professor Marc Snir for outstanding contributions to scalable computing.

Professor Marc Snir is  Director of the Mathematics and Computer Science Division at the Argonne National Laboratory and Michael Faiman and Saburo Muroga Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  He currently pursues research in parallel computing. He was head of the Computer Science Department from 2001 to 2007. Until  2001 he was a senior manager at the IBM T. J. Watson Research Center where he led the Scalable Parallel Systems research group that was responsible for major contributions to the IBM SP scalable parallel system and to the IBM Blue Gene system.

Marc Snir received a Ph.D. in Mathematics from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1979, worked at NYU on the NYU Ultracomputer project in 1980-1982, and was at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1982-1986, before joining IBM. Marc Snir was a major contributor to the design of the Message Passing Interface. He has published numerous papers and given many presentations on computational complexity, parallel algorithms, parallel architectures, interconnection networks, parallel languages and libraries and parallel programming environments.

Marc is Argonne Distinguished Fellow,  AAAS Fellow, ACM Fellow and  IEEE Fellow.  He has Erdos number 2 and is a mathematical descendant of Jacques Salomon Hadamard.