You are here

IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence: 2015

2015 IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing awarded to Professor Ian Foster
The IEEE Technical committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC) is happy to announce that the 2015 IEEE Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing has been awarded to Professor Ian Foster for For pioneering work in parallel programming languages (Strand), collaborative and distributed computing, and infrastructure for large-scale science projects.
Ian Foster is the Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor of Computer Science at the University of Chicago and an Argonne Distinguished Fellow at Argonne National Laboratory. He is also the Director of the Computation Institute, a joint unit of Argonne and the University. His research is concerned with the acceleration of discovery in a networked world. Dr. Foster is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Association for Computing Machinery, and the British Computer Society. Awards include the British Computer Society's Lovelace Medal, honorary doctorates from the University of Canterbury, New Zealand, and CINVESTAV, Mexico, and the IEEE Tsutomu Kanai award.
The IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing was established in 2008 to recognize significant and sustained contributions to the scalable computing community through the IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC), coupled with an outstanding record of high quality and high impact research. In the past, IEEE TCSC medal of excellence were awarded to Professor Jack Dongarra (University of Tennessee, USA) in 2008, Professor Rajkumar Buyya (University of Melbourne, Australia) in 2009, Professor William Gropp (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA) in 2010, Professor Albert Zomaya (University of Sydney, Australia) in 2011, Professor David Abramson (Monash University, Australia) in 2012, Professor Marc Snir (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and Argonne National Laboratory, USA) in 2013, and and Professor Yves Robert (UMR CNRS, ENS Lyon, INRIA, France) in 2014.
The award consists of a medal and an honorarium of $1000. The award is typically presented at the IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Cluster, Cloud and Grid Computing (CCGrid). The winner is also invited to give a keynote at the conference.
Details of award can be found at