You are here

IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence

About the Award: 

The IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing is awarded for significant and sustained contributions to the scalable computing community through the IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC), coupled with an outstanding record of high quality and high impact research. The award consists of a medal and an honorarium of $1000. The award is typically presented at the IEEE/ACM International Symposium on Cluster, Cloud and Grid Computing (CCGrid). The winner is also invited to give the opening keynote at the conference.



Nominations for the 2019 Award:

A candidate may be nominated by colleagues/TCSC members or may nominate him/her-self. An individual can nominate at most one candidate for this award. The candidate must be an IEEE, IEEE CS, and TCSC member in good standing. Nomination must be submitted via email  to  :

A nomination application (as a single PDF file) should contain the following details:

  1. Professional Employment Affiliations: List the nominee's current professional affiliations and titles.
  2. Citation: Give a brief citation (thirty words or less) precisely stating the most salient reason(s) why the nominee is qualified for the award.
  3. Technical Contributions: Describe the nominee's technical achievements in scalable computing as well as significance and impact. (Maximum length 2 pages)
  4. TCSC Contribution: Describe the candidate’s service and specific contributions to TCSC, especially how the Technical Contributions enhance the impact of TCSC to the community. (Maximum length 2 pages)
  5. Endorsers: Each nomination must be supported by letter from three at least endorsers. An endorser can endorse only one candidate for this award. The endorsers will be required to comment on the nominee's technical contributions as well as service to the TCSC and its community. The endorsement letters should be included in the nomination package.

Deadline for 2018 Nominations: May 31, 2019

Results Notification: June 30, 2019

Selection Committee:

  • Jinjun Chen, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia (Chair)
  • Bernady O. Apduhan, Kyushu Sangyo University, Japan
  • Jamal Deen, McMaster University, Canada
  • Beniamino Di Martino, University of Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli", Italy 
  • Laurence T. Yang, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada

The award selection committee consists of past winners, leaders in the field, as well as members of the TCSC Award Committee.  A selection committee member cannot be a nominator or endorser.