You are here

IEEE TCSC Medal for Excellence: 2009

2009 IEEE TCSC Medal for Excellence in Scalable Computing awarded to Professor Rajkumar Buyya

The IEEE Technical committee on Scalable Computing (TCSC) is happy to announce that the 2009 IEEE Medal for Excellence in Scalable Computing has been awarded to Professor Rajkumar Buyya for pioneering the economic paradigm for utility-oriented distributed computing platforms such as Grids and Clouds, and serving with distinction the scalable computing community as the foundation Chair of the Technical Committee on Scalable Computing.

Dr. Rajkumar Buyya is an Associate Professor and Reader of Computer Science and Software Engineering; and Director of the Grid Computing and Distributed Systems (GRIDS) Laboratory at the University of Melbourne, Australia. He is also serving as the founding CEO of Manjrasoft Pty Ltd., a spin-off company of the University, commercializing innovations originating from the GRIDS Lab. He received "Research Excellence Awards" from the University of Melbourne for productive and quality research in computer science and software engineering in 2005 and 2008. He also received the Chris Wallace Award for Outstanding Research Contribution 2008 from the Computing Research and Education Association of Australasia.

Professor Buyya has carried out fundamental research in utility-oriented distributed computing platforms with a focus on computational economy for distributed resource management and scheduling in Grids and Clouds.  He has published hundreds of high quality and high impact research papers that are well referenced. The Journal of Information and Software Technology in its Jan 2009 issue, based on an analysis of ISI citations, ranked two of his journal papers among the "Top 10 Cited Software Engineering Articles in 2002". Software technologies developed under his leadership have gained rapid acceptance and are in use at several academic institutions and commercial enterprises around the world. He has also led the establishment and development of key community activities, including co-founding of IEEE Technical Committee on Scalable Computing and four IEEE conferences (CCGrid, Cluster, Grid, and e-Science).