You are here

IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing for Early Career Researchers (previously IEEE TCSC Award for Young Achievers in Scalable Computing)

About the Award: 
IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing for Early Career Researchers (previously called IEEE TCSC Award for Young Achievers in Scalable Computing) recognizes up to 5 individuals who have made outstanding, influential, and potentially long-lasting contributions in the field 
of scalable computing within 5 years of receiving their PhD degree as of January 01 of the year of the award.
Nominations Materials:
A candidate may be nominated by members of the community. An individual may nominate at most one candidate for this award. Nomination must be submitted via email to the chair of selection committee. A nomination application (as a single PDF file) should contain the following details:

  1. Name/email of person making the nomination (self-nominations are
 not eligible).
  2. Name/email of candidate for whom the award is recommended.
  3. A statement by the nominator (maximum of 500 words) as to why the 
nominee is highly deserving of the award. Note that since the award 
is for outstanding contributions, the statement and supporting letters should address what the
 contributions are and why they are both outstanding and significant. 
The nomination should also list the names and email of up to 3 persons who will provide letters supporting the nomination.
  4. CV of the nominee.
  5. Up three support letters from persons other than 
the nominator – these should be collected by the nominator and included in the nomination.

Important Dates (2019):

  • Nomination Deadline:      
  • Results Notification:         

Award Selection Committee (2019):

  1.  Bernady O. Apduhan, Kyushu Sangyo University, Japan
  2.  Jinjun Chen (Chair), Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  3.  Beniamino Di Martino, Universita' della Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli", Italy
  4.  Didier El Baz, LAAS-CNRS, France

Note that members of the selection committee cannot be nominators or provide support letters. All conflict of interest must be avoided. 
Award & Presentation Note:  
Awardees will be presented a plaque and will be recognized by IEEE TCSC in its website, newsletter and archives. The awards will be presented at the annual IEEE ISPA conference.
============ Winners ============

  • Chaoi Li, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
  • Wei Li, University of Sydney, Australia
  • Deepak Puthal, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
  • Qian Wang, Wuhan University, China
  • Guoqi Xie, Hunan University, China
  • Qingchen Zhang, St Francis Xavier University, Canada


  • Quan Chen, Shanghai Jiaotong University, China 
  • Xiaohui Liang, University of Massachusetts Boston, USA
  • Lena Mashayekhy, University of Delaware, USA
  • Kaoru Ota, Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Chunsheng Zhu, University of British Columbia, Canada


  • Md Zakirul Alam Bhuiyan, Fordham University, USA
  • Leonardo Bautista Gomez, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain
  • Mianxiong Dong, Muroran Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Xingang Liu, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China
  • Nikos Tziritas, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China


  • Ilkay Altintas, San Diego Supercomputer Center, UC San Diego, USA
  • Aydın Buluç, Computational Research Division - Berkeley Lab (LBNL), USA
  • Kurt B. Ferreira, Sandia National Laboratories, USA


  • Abhinav Bhatele, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
  • Jed Brown, Argonne National Laboratory & University of Colorado Boulder, USA
  • Yong Chen, Texas Tech University, USA
  • Ioan Raicu, Illinois Institute of Technology & Argonne National Laboratory, USA
  • Ivan Rodero, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, USA


  • Yuriy Brun, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, USA
  • Jeff R. Hammond, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL, USA
  • Torsten Höfler, ETH, Zurich, Switzerland