You are here

IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence (Middle Career Researcher)

About the Award: 
IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing (Middle Career Researcher, MCR) recognizes up to 3 individuals who have made outstanding, influential and on-going yet towards long-lasting contributions in the field
of scalable computing. Typically the candidates are within 5 to 15 years of receiving their PhD degree as of September 01 of the year of the award. Each award includes an award plaque that will be presented at the annual IEEE HPCC conference, along with a public citation for the award on the IEEE TCSC website.
Nomination Materials:
A candidate must be nominated by members of the community. Nominations must be submitted via email to the chair of selection committee. Each application must consist of the following materials:

  1. Name/email of person making the nomination (self-nominations are not eligible)
  2. Name/email of the nominee
  3. A statement by the nominator (maximum of 500 words) as to why the nominee is highly deserving of the award.
  4. CV of the nominee
  5. Up to three support letters from persons other than the nominator - these should be collected by the nominator and included in the nomination. 

Important Dates (2018):

  • Nomination Deadline:     May 31, 2019
  • Results Notification:       June 30, 2019

Award Selection Committee (2018):

  1. Bernady O. Apduhan, Kyushu Sangyo University, Japan
  2. Jinjun Chen (Chair), Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  3. Beniamino Di Martino, Universita' della Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli", Italy
  4. Laurence T. Yang, St Francis Xavier University, Canada

Note that members of the selection committee cannot be nominators or provide support letters.  
Award & Presentation Note:
Awardees will be presented a plaque and will be recognized by IEEE TCSC in its website, newsletter and archives. The awards will be presented at annual IEEE HPCC conference.
========== Winners (in alphabetic order) =============

  • Meikang Qiu, Pace University/Columbia University, USA
  • Gang Pan, Zhejiang University, China
  • Sangmi Pallickara, Colorado State University, USA 


  • Rodrigo N. Calheiros, University of Western Sydney, Australia
  • Shiyan Hu, Michigan Technological University, USA
  • Geyong Min, University of Exeter, UK
  • Lizhe Wang, Chinese Academy of Sciences and China University of Geosciences, China


  • Samee U. Khan, NSF and North Dakota State University, USA  
  • Rajiv Ranjan, —Newcastle University, UK
  • Yang Xiang, Deakin University, Australia 


  • Pavan Balaji, Argonne National Laboratory, USA
  • Sudeep Pasricha, Colorado State University, USA
  • Haiying Shen, Clemson University, USA