You are here

IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence (Outstanding Ph.D Thesis)

About the Award: 
The IEEE TCSC Outstanding PhD Dissertation Award is an annual award to recognize candidates that have recently received a PhD degree for no more than 2 years and have written an outstanding PhD dissertation in the field of the scalable computing. This award is established to encourage doctoral research that combines theory and practice or makes in-depth technical contributions, having the potential to contribute to the IEEE TCSC. Each award includes an award plaque that will be presented at the annual IEEE ScalCom conference, along with a public citation for the award on the IEEE TCSC website.
Nomination Materials:
Nominations must be submitted via email to the chair of the selection committee chair. Each application must consist of the following materials:

  1. A doctoral dissertation written by the applicant in any language, no more than 2 years prior to the submission deadline.
  2. A summary of the dissertation in English of up to 2 pages in length written by the PhD candidate, highlighting the significance of the problem, the technical approach taken, and the application context and potential.
  3. Sample published paper(s) in English based on the dissertation written primarily by the PhD candidate in scientific journals, especially IEEE Transactions/Journals.
  4. Listing of all publications by the applicant in the related field.
  5. A letter of recommendation from the applicant’s dissertation advisor that assesses the significance of the research, attests to the originality of the work, and comments on the engagement of the applicant in the TCSC field.

Important Dates (2019):

  • Nomination Deadline:     June 01, 2019
  • Results Notification:        June 30, 2019

Award Selection Committee (2019):

  1. Bernady O. Apduhan, Kyushu Sangyo University, Japan
  2. Beniamino Di Martino, Universita' della Campania "Luigi Vanvitelli", Italy
  3. Didier El Baz, LAAS-CNRS, France
  4. Hai Jiang (Chair), Arkansas State University, USA

Note that members of the selection committee cannot be nominators or provide support letters.  
Award & Presentation Note:
Awardees will be presented a plaque and will be recognized by IEEE TCSC in its website, newsletter and archives. The awards will be presented at annual IEEE ScalCom conference.
========== Winners =====================

  • Gagangeet Singh Aujla, Thapar Institute of Engineering and Technology, India  
    Renewable Energy Based Efficient Framework for Sustainability of Data Centers
  • Jun Feng, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
    Secure Tensor-Based Big Data Analysis and Processing
  • Chang Liu, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
    Searchable Symmetric Encryption: Attacks, Constructions, and Extensions
  • Matthew Malensek, Colorado State University, USA
    Low-Latency, Query-Driven Analytics over Voluminous Multidimensional, Spatiotemporal Datasets
  • Jungmin Son, University of Melbourne, Australia
    Integrated Provisioning of Computer and Network Resources in Software-Defined Cloud Data Centers
  • Mingxing Zhang, Tsinghua University, China
    Research on Efficient Large-Scale Graph Data Processing Technologies


  • Omer Ada, University of Sydney, Australia
    Resource Allocation for Improved Performance and Resource Efficiency in Cloud Computing
  • Josué Feliu, Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain
    Contention-Aware Scheduling for SMT Multicore Processors
  • Safraz Rampersaud, Wayne State University, USA
    Sharing-Aware Resource Management Algorithms for Virtual Computing Environments
  • Xiaokang Wang, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
    Highly-Efficient Computation of Tensor Decomposition and its Applications
  • Kuan Zhang, University of Waterloo, Canada
    Security and Privacy for Mobile Social Networks


  • —He Li, University of Aizu, Japan
    Resource Optimizations in Software Defined Networking
  • —Lena Mashayekhy, Wayne State University, USA
    Resource Management in Cloud and Big Data Systems
  • Qingchen Zhang, Dalian University of Technology, China
    Deep Computation Model for Big Data Feature Learning
  • Chunsheng  Zhu, University of British Columbia, Canada
    Improving Sensor-Cloud: Energy Efficiency, Security, Transmission, and Quality of Service